Thrifty Thursday (2/18)

Yes…I’m back. Work, life, family…things get hectic sometimes, but there’s always time for books.

 

thrifty thursday

(Graphic made by Julianne @ Outlandish Lit)

 

Hello everyone, and welcome back to Thrifty Thursdays!

The rules are simple and are as follows:

1. Each week’s link-up will be posted on Thursday.

2. Post or talk about a book you found used (preferably in a book store or thrift shop).

3. The book must cost less than $5.

4. Return for the link-up!

wpImg

Ideally, we all would be exploring authors, books, and genres that we never would have considered otherwise. Some of us may find new favorites. Others may just find some laughs. Either way, we’d be supporting independent booksellers who are the backbone of what we do as bloggers. Of course, these books cost money, and posting each week isn’t required, though you’re certainly welcome to do so.

My pick for this week?

red-dragon-book-cover
Red Dragon by Thomas Harris

Cost: $3.97

Total saved thus far compared to new prices: $77.03

Where did I get it? Everything has been eBay lately…low prices are very easy to find, and I still feel okay knowing I’m keeping books out of landfills, offsetting carbon footprints in shipping, and contributing to world literacy through Better World Books. Their prices are good, and they typically have a buy 3, get 1 free deal. I’ve been looking into them more and more, and I suppose they’re something of a polarizing company, but I’ve never had a problem, personally speaking.

 

The Book: I was never too big on horror movies, but a film-student-friend from Russia recommended that I watch The Silence of the Lambs as well as the other films in the Hannibal Lecter series. The Silence of the Lambs was a movie I enjoyed. Of course it’s dark, violent, and pretty damn twisted, but the psychological processes explored really added to the atmosphere and made it a thriller. I wasn’t as big on Hannibal or Hannibal Rising. Those really upped the gore factor in the Hollywood way, and it took a lot away from both the development of the character and the films themselves. Red Dragon, based on Thomas Harris’ first Hannibal Lecter novel, seemed like a return to the psychological aspects behind The Silence of the Lambs, and, being the first novel in the series, seems like the logical novel to start with. I’ve heard good things about it, so I’m excited to really dig into the prose.

As usual, we’ll take a look at the Amazon description for the gist. Per Amazon:

 

Lying on a cot in his cell with Alexandre Dumas’s Le Grand Dictionnaire de Cuisine open on his chest, Hannibal “The Cannibal” Lecter makes his debut in this legendary horror novel, which is even better than its sequel, The Silence of the Lambs. As in Silence, the pulse-pounding suspense plot involves a hypersensitive FBI sleuth who consults psycho psychiatrist Lecter for clues to catching a killer on the loose.

The sleuth, Will Graham, actually quit the FBI after nearly getting killed by Lecter while nabbing him, but fear isn’t what bugs him about crime busting. It’s just too creepy to get inside a killer’s twisted mind. But he comes back to stop a madman who’s been butchering entire families. The FBI needs Graham’s insight, and Graham needs Lecter’s genius. But Lecter is a clever fiend, and he manipulates both Graham and the killer at large from his cell.

That killer, Francis Dolarhyde, works in a film lab, where he picks his victims by studying their home movies. He’s obsessed with William Blake’s bizarre painting The Great Red Dragon and the Woman Clothed with the Sun, believing there’s a red dragon within him, the personification of his demonic drives. Flashbacks to Dolarhyde’s terrifying childhood and superb stream-of-consciousness prose get us right there inside his head. When Dolarhyde does weird things, we understand why. We sympathize when the voice of the cruel dead grandma who raised and crazed him urges him to mayhem–she’s way scarier than that old bat in Psycho. When he falls in love with a blind girl at the lab, we hope he doesn’t give in to Grandma’s violent advice.

This book is awesomely detailed, ingeniously plotted, judiciously gory, and fantastically imagined. If you haven’t read it, you’ve never had the creeps.

Even though I’ve already seen the film, it’s the prose and the subtleties that I’m excited to get in on.

What have you picked up on the cheap lately?

5 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursday (2/18)

  1. This is a series I’ve been meaning to read since forever. I think I have a copy of Silence of the Lambs tucked away somewhere – but who knows where! I’m really into psychological thriller stuff at the moment.

    Like

    1. Find it! I’ll read it after Red Dragon, and I’d be excited as anything to do a read with someone.

      I’m sorry I didn’t post last week, but thank you for not only reminding me last week, but waiting until this week and not yelling at me (though I deserve it!)

      I need to get back into the habit of blogging and writing.

      Like

      1. I found out at the end of last week that I have to move house soon, so a readalong may have to wait unfortunately (assuming I even have a copy of the book). I’ll have to be packing up aaaaalllll of my books. Ugh.
        Don’t worry about not posting regularly – your blog shouldn’t feel like a chore!

        Like

Leave a Reply

