Cover Lust Friday (1/29)

I’m back with Cover Lust Friday, hosted by Alice @ AliceReeds. The meme itself is pretty simple.

Cover Lust Friday is a weekly meme that’s all about covers. Pick a cover that stands out to you, add your reason why you’ve chosen that particular one or what you like about it. Let’s have fun with it and share the love for our favorite covers.

Covers can get me before I even read the title or a description. Here we go…

The Cover:

9781940430768The Secret Birds by Tony Fitzpatrick

Published: May 2016 by Curbside Splendor

Pages: 300

Series: No

The Secret Birds, named for his series of drawings by the same name, is Tony Fitzpatrick’s iconic exhibition of artwork, poetry, and ephemera that examine life, mortality, and the pursuit of a life spent collecting, traveling, creating, and telling stories.

 

 

 

The Reason:

Alright, well, this isn’t a novel in the typical sense of the word, but that cover is a really intriguing collage. Just look at it. The price tag ($50) and my budget ($0) scares me off from this one, but I’ll be on the lookout for a used copy because it just looks damn interesting. I had always wished I was more artistically inclined when it came to drawing, creating collages, or painting, but the best I could settle for was tracing and accidentally abstract art, so things like this always intrigue me. Life…mortality…a life spent collecting, creating…? Did I write this in my spare time?

One thought on “Cover Lust Friday (1/29)

Leave a Reply

