Me Again. (Again.)

When I started this blog, I really just wanted to write about books post-B.A., and I think I did that, but the internet doesn’t operate in the way that academia does. Certainly, portions of it may, and I think there are people who look for that, but, at least in 2016, our information tends to come in more easy to chew packets. Shorter posts appear to be much less work due to the fact that they’re more concise and, just, overall, less to write, but I think you can still have meaningful posts, and that’s something I’d like to be more proactive in doing.

Part of the reason that I enjoy this community of book lovers is because we have all of these personalities, and I think I came to blogging with a much more academic approach that, at least in terms of blogging, sort of ignores the point of the whole thing.  Blogging is, in my opinion, a more social means of communication, which sounds like a bit of an oxymoron, but let me explain. It’s not a research paper. It is similar in that, yes, it is an exchange of thought, but I think it is much more informal, and that’s something I’d like to do more of moving forward. Writing an exploratory treatise on Jeff Vandermeer’s “Annihilation” was, undeniably, something I enjoyed, but I think that sort of thing reaches a point where it’s just quite frankly, boring for readers. (I know, you [very politely, I might add] called it, Julianne.)

When I first started blogging, I wanted to look at books that are strange, odd, or, for whatever reason, just so happen to fly under the radar, and I think it’s a sort of niche thing. I still have some visitors coming to check out the post on Joseph Cornell, so it’s really just cool to see things still moving in that way.

The blog has been a learning process, and it’s going to continue to be so. I’m really going to work to incorporate different forms of content, be it video or polls or just things that I think would be much more interactive or just more enjoyable to view/watch/read. Anyway, bear with me while I work these bugs out. I look forward to getting (re)acquainted with everyone.

So here’s me clicking “try again.” One of these days I’ll learn to charge the battery so I stop running out of juice.

Best wishes.

2 thoughts on “Me Again. (Again.)

  1. I can really relate to this struggle. I started blogging because I wanted a place to put all my book thoughts and to get better at critically thinking about my reading. As time has gone on, I’ve also figured out that I really like writing posts that generate discussion. The typical book review, especially if it starts getting too deep into literary analysis, usually doesn’t do that. It’s been a struggle to figure out how to balance writing thoughtful reviews with engaging the blogging community that I love so much, but it’s a worthwhile one to go through.

    Excited that you’ll be posting again!

    Like

  2. You’re the best!! And, for the record, I don’t remember calling the Annihilation post boring, bc obviously that was my jam. You probably mean I just said long posts could be boring. BUT just so everybody knows.

    If you want to run any ideas by me, hit me uuupppp. And I’m always down to collaborate too. You’ve got this, have fun, etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

