Thrifty Thursday (May 14)

Welcome to Thrifty Thursdays!

The rules are simple and are as follows:

1. Each week’s link-up will be posted on Thursday.

2. Post or talk about a book you found used (preferably in a book store or thrift shop).

3. The book must cost less than $5.

4. Be sure to return for the link-up! Weird or strange books are preferred.

Ideally, we all would be exploring authors, books, and genres that we never would have considered otherwise. Some of us may find new favorites. Others may just find some laughs. Either way, we’d be supporting independent booksellers who are the backbone of what we do as bloggers. Of course, these books cost money, and posting each week isn’t required, though you’re certainly welcome to do so. An interesting possibility down the line may be picking a subject or genre and trying to find the oddest possible title.

My pick for this week?

Great House by Nicole Krauss

Cost: $3.97

great-house-by-nicole-kraussNicole Krauss is also the author of Man Walks Into a Room, a recent read and favorite of mine, so I was pretty excited when I saw both The History of Love (last week) and Great House at such low prices and scooped ’em up.

Total saved thus far compared to new prices: $38.

From Amazon:

For twenty-five years, a reclusive American novelist has been writing at the desk she inherited from a young Chilean poet who disappeared at the hands of Pinochet’s secret police; one day a girl claiming to be the poet’s daughter arrives to take it away, sending the writer’s life reeling. Across the ocean, in the leafy suburbs of London, a man caring for his dying wife discovers, among her papers, a lock of hair that unravels a terrible secret. In Jerusalem, an antiques dealer slowly reassembles his father’s study, plundered by the Nazis in Budapest in 1944.

Connecting these stories is a desk of many drawers that exerts a power over those who possess it or have given it away. As the narrators of Great House make their confessions, the desk takes on more and more meaning, and comes finally to stand for all that has been taken from them, and all that binds them to what has disappeared. Great House is a story haunted by questions: What do we pass on to our children and how do they absorb our dreams and losses? How do we respond to disappearance, destruction, and change?

Once again, Krauss seems to be exploring ideas of memory and history, identity and the natural course of time, just as she did in Man Walks Into a Room.  First a poet, Krauss’ writing often has a lyrical quality, and so I can only assume she explores the themes as skillfully as she did in Man Walks Into a Room.  I’m looking forward to delving into this one.

What did you pick up on the cheap this week?

2 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursday (May 14)

  1. I’m back, and I’m linkin’.

    It’s awesome that you found so many Krauss titles for so little money, since you seem to really admire her writing. This one sounds interesting—I especially like the questions at the end of the blurb. I might have to hunt this one down myself!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woo! Thanks again for taking part!

    Nicole Krauss was great. I suppose I see why she may not appeal to everyone, but her meditative, poetic prose is right up my alley. Julianne got me into Geek Love, so I’ve been reading that, but I’m thinking I’ll be reading my Krauss books next. I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m trying to read them in order of publication.

    Going to see what you picked up now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

