The Week Without Social Media – So It Begins

no_social_media

Effective as of this posting, I’m going to attempt to go one week without social media.  That means no Facebook, no Twitter, and no blogging aside from what’s in the queue.  I’m hoping to be a bit more productive, both in terms of reading and preparing new stories for an MFA manuscript.

I’m undecided if I should go all-out and only utilize phone calls as opposed to text messages, but I think that may be a bit too extreme for modern life.  Even as a kid, AIM was always around, so I may allow for Skype. Too many things are communicated by e-mail nowadays, so you can send words of encouragement (or discouragement) via the contact form.

Still, no social media for a week is my goal, and I’m going to document it by hand in a notebook.  I’m interested to see if I note any psychological changes or “cravings,” which some scientists say can occur.  I shall report back in a week’s time. Wish me luck!

Have you ever tried avoiding the internet?  Why? How’d it go? 

2 thoughts on “The Week Without Social Media – So It Begins

  1. I had forced avoidance a couple of times when I moved. Each time was about two weeks. Since I knew before hand that this would happen, I was able to notify all contacts, groups, etc. It really didn’t bother me. But on the other hand I was busy with moving chores, so that’s not like having to do without it during a normal daily routine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

