Meme Monday: It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (4/6/2015)

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey!

Here’s my birth into the world of book blogging memes, and I thought this would be a great place to start.  As always, a big thanks to Julianne at Outlandish Lit for being my mentor into this world.

This week I read:

10207095

  •   The Glamour of Grammar by Roy Peter Clark

An interesting refresher on all sorts of rules and advice about grammar and writing.  Clark attempts to make the dry material entertaining through humor and associations with pop culture.  Generally, Clark succeeds in livening up the material, but some of the guidelines seem more like opinion.  I’d say it’s a book worth a read, but it’s not nearly as handy as a manual.  Still, an interesting book to flip through that’s pretty well done.

Annihilation_by_jeff_vandermeer

  • Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer

What more can I say about Annihilation that I haven’t said yet?  An essay, a review on GoodReads–what more do you need for me to let you know I think Annihilation is a great book?  Exciting, constant twists and turns, mysteries throughout. A really enjoyable book I couldn’t help but binge-read until the number of pages remaining hit zero.

Currently Reading:

516RB032QbLA Convergence of Birds – Various Authors

Currently, I have a love/hate relationship with this anthology.  Though some of the stories are intriguing and span various forms, a few of the stories suffer from poor editing, which I find maddening.  Because there are all sorts of writers–from a 23-year old Jonathan Safran Foer to Joyce Carol Oates to a high school teacher–the quality of the writing varies, but the pieces are generally pretty good.  Cornell’s art is fascinating, and even if the stories may be lacking, the pictures of Cornell’s bird boxes make up for it tenfold.

What have you been paging through this week?

2 thoughts on “Meme Monday: It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (4/6/2015)

  1. Oh my goodness, you are getting through so many more books than me haha. I’m so glad you liked Annihilation and I didn’t steer you wrong!! I just finished The Heart is a Lonely Hunter and now I’m trying to FINALLY finish A Little Life.

    Like

    1. To be fair, job searching leaves me with massive stretches of free time, and, while I enjoy running in nice weather, that’s not exactly what I want to do from 10pm – 4am. You haven’t steered me wrong yet! You shall remain in my good graces until I’m otherwise proven wrong.

      Like

Leave a Reply

