Slow Motion: A State of the Union Address (Now with pictures!)

Greetings, folks!

Here I am writing, planning, and tweeting on this lovely spring day (read: Still cold). Following the completion of Jeff Vandermeer’s Annihilation, I’m attempting to restrain myself from immediately flying to the nearest book store to continue the trip through Area X with Authority. With that in mind, I started opening my dresser drawers to pull out some of the things I’ve neglected.

I suppose this would be a good time to mention that my dresser is empty of clothing, all of which hangs in my closet on hangers or in a set of plastic drawers. My idea was to finally get a few bookshelves to have a proper home library instead of stacked boxes on my closet shelf, but it just hasn’t worked out that way, so my unread books reside in several dresser drawers.

So many books, so many choices, and so I decided that I had to read at least one more book than the number I had last purchased. In other words, I picked up Raymond Carver’s collection Where I’m Calling From, Vandermeer’s Annihilation, and Nicole Krauss’ Man Walks Into a Room. Since I’ve completed Annihilation, Man Walks Into a Room, and Teju Cole’s Open City, I only need one more to exceed that three. Still, I readily admit I’m an over-achiever, and instead of reading one, I’ve recovered four collections to simultaneously read and complete. Then, and only then, can I move on to Authority.

“He’s a madman!” you might be saying. “Don’t do it!” others might wail in plaintive tones.

But I must. So here we are.

11101763_10153127143041343_994141293_n

That’s Raymond Carver’s Where I’m Calling From, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn’s Apricot Jam, the compilation edited by Jonathan Safran Foer based on Joseph Cornell’s artwork A Convergence of Birds, and, finally, Roy Peter Clark’s The Glamour of Grammar. Notice my bookmarks, two being legitimate bookmarks, the other two being impostors crudely crafted from old greeting cards. Why just throw ’em in the trash?

So here’s to hoping this little marathon goes well, gets me through some of the books I’ve been meaning to get to, and helps clear my backlog somewhat.

In other news, Google’s introduction of Pacman into Maps was a pretty interesting development on their part. I don’t think I did too badly on the Times Square version, so go on over and try to beat my score (seen below). If you do, I’ll write you some kind of poem–a sonnet, a haiku, hell, I’ll even talk a big game and say a sestina. I’m not sure how good my score is, but let my confidence sit at unheard of heights.

11125239_10153127143566343_1032357397_n.jpg

Speaking of Times Square, I was about a block away a few weeks ago and ended up on top of an NYC building. You can see quite a bit from 30 stories up, including the Empire State Building (of course). I remember seeing a picture taken from the top of a tower in what I believe was Dubai, and from such heights, you could actually see the curve of the Earth on the horizon. While I wasn’t quite high enough to spot the curve, I still enjoyed the view.

11096674_10153127145281343_1299059349_n

11103863_10153127145631343_793135917_n

In any case, I hope to have some updates coming regarding my progress over the next few days, and as Julianne at Outlandish Lit has introduced me to the world of blogging memes, I’ll give some of those a shot as well.

As always, thanks for reading, and my sincere and best wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

